Tonight I Stayed Up Late Because 10 People Were Murdered

It’s 11:25 p.m.  I worked a ten-hour day and I’m tired. But during the day, ten people were killed on a college campus in Oregon. And tonight the president of the United States preached. Yes, preached.

He said that there are gun owners who are responsible. He said that guns should not be illegal. He said that most gun owners want this country to do what it needs to in order to keep guns out of the hands of people who are mentally ill in ways that make them prone to be violent. He said it is our fault that we, as a nation, have not protected innocent victims. He said that we need to hold our elected officials accountable to vote for rational gun controls and regulations. He said we need to politicize the issue so that change happens.

So, tonight I stayed up late. I wrote letters to every elected representative I could identify. And I let them know that it’s enough already.

I hope you’ll stay up late, too.  And make a difference.

One response

  1. How many,ore innocent victims will it take before our country wakes ip

    Like

Leave a Reply

