Everything I Needed to Know, I Learned in Scratch DJ Academy

Lest anyone think that the learning I just completed at Scratch DJ Academy was only about how to rule the turntables, let me correct that misconception. Among the things I learned from the experience:
  1. If you have a passion and a bit of a dream (it doesn’t have to be in full focus), go for it when you’re young.
  2. Corollary to #1: If you have a passion and a bit of a dream (it doesn’t have to be in full focus), pursue it at any age
  3. You’re never too old to rock and roll.
  4. Don’t be embarrassed by what you can’t do yet or by what you don’t know yet. Be embarrassed only by what you wanted to do or know and never bothered to pursue.
  5. Real learning (as opposed to simply memorizing facts) is hard work. It often calls for creating new brain pathways and for exercising parts of the brain that might otherwise atrophy. So it’s always good to learn.
  6. Every person needs to have a personal advisory council. That council needs to have enablers (who are going to tell you to “go for it”), muses (who inspire creativity), realists (who are going to ask “you’re planning to do WHAT?”), cheerleaders (who will cheer you on), and funders (thanks again to my homies for the birthday gift of DJ Academy tuition!). Probably other roles, too. On the occasion of completing this course, I send out love to all my advisers.
  7. Leave prejudices and stereotypes behind, especially when choosing mentors or teachers for yourself. My teachers and advisers for this recent journey included males and females, as well as every race, nationality, socio-economic group, religion & age. Some are people that, before this experience, I would have likely gone out of my way to avoid were I to see them on a dark Manhattan street. Were it not for them, I would have missed out on some life lessons about what teaching really is. And would have missed meeting some incredible human beings, each one a true mentsch.

There is a lot for me to learn. About DJ’ing and about life. I am blessed with great teachers, advisers, mentors and guides. I wish you the same.

    One response

    1. Arnie,Your list of seven realities to grow by is great! (You didn't seem to name your list, but that's what resonates with me.) I think we should post it by the desk or mirror of anyone that wants to grow.Thanks for sharing!

      Like

    Leave a Reply

